Chapter 6

Use of bonding in appliqué

This is a method I have used lots of times before and really like, but I have mostly used it as a method of applique for large banners, or for embellishing bags and book covers etc. The finer fabrics here and the use of the folded squares presented some additional challenges.

Ch4Pg5

I chose to replicate three of my designs from chapter 4 and I include the page they are taken from here, above, for reference. I tried to choose similar colours, but was slightly limited by the fabrics available. I also wanted to try some see through layers and that limited my colour choice further, as to what would work.

The individual samples are photographed here with the issues that arose in working, but they are then included in a summary page in my journal.

sample 1

Sample ‘a’. – above

Here I realised that for the sample I had not used exactly the same cross shape as had been in the original folded shape. In the original it had been on the diagonal, and although I could make the same cuts to get the shape, when I turned it straight it was too large to fit in the 10×10 cm square. I had to reduce it. I learnt the hard way to make more notes as I go along. This was to be a slightly recurring problem!

When I came to add the second layer, I wanted it to be transparent, but it was more difficult to apply the bondaweb without it crinkling. It was also much more clumsy folding both the fabric and the paper covered adhesive to cut the shape accurately. It tended to move about and had to be held carefully. I wondered about removing the paper, but thought the layers might stick together. In the end it’s not come out badly, but in applying the iron I used a sliding motion and have slightly messed up one of the edges on the left hand side. Otherwise I am quite pleased with the effect.

Ch 6 sample 2 copySample ‘b’ – above

This one was slightly more straightforward. The first applied layer is pale blue on a dark blue – almost navy background, but the scanner has not reflected the colours well – perhaps because the gold is so bright.

ch 6 sample 3Sample ‘c’- above

This sample again presented me with some problems. In trying to fold the paper backed bondaweb along with the fabric I was then unable to cut such a complex design. In the end, not to be defeated, I removed the paper and simply cut through the folded glue backed fabric. This was fine till I tried to flatten it out. The glue had stuck together due partly to the warmth of my hands. Eventually most of it was straightened, but some at the top I had to give up on and just cut off. Although it changes the two way symmetry, in other aspects it creates an additional interest in the design.

When I came to iron on the cut out design though I found that the delicate lines had moved under the baking paper without my noticing and so it does not line up as well as I would have liked.

The page from my Sketchbook with these three designs framed is below.

p-1-updated-bonded-fabric-designs-18022018.jpg

Creation of ‘Scrappy Fabrics’ using bondaweb

Having made  up several samples for Chapter 7 already, I had a range of scraps to play with. I decided to make two samples that were based on a single colour and a third that was bright and bold, using a range of colours. I have put photographs of the materials in my sketchbook, since the pieces were not big and I want to be able to use them for designs.

scaps fabric 1 - Bold mixed10022018

Sample ‘d’ above.

This was the bright, bold one.

scaps-fabric-2-gold10022018.jpg

Sample ‘e’ – above 

This one is based on yellows and golds.

scaps-fabric-3-blue10022018.jpgSample ‘f’ – above 

This one based on blues.

Scrappy Fabrics into Bonded Designs.

These are the designs I created from the bonded fabrics I made.

page 3 scrappy fabric designs10022018

Sample ‘g’.

A simple repeat of an earlier asymmetrical design – though in practise these are very difficult to re-produce exactly!

Sample ‘h’.

This was a simple design using bright on bright. When I experimented with other background colours they felt washed out, so I went with the bright option.

 

Sample ‘i’. 

Ch2Pg2

This was a repeat of a design in Chapter 2 – Star and Cross shapes from coloured paper. The original is pictured to the left. In transferring the design to the bondaweb I forgot to reverse it. So the resulting design is in reverse, and also the crosses are slightly fatter and more curved. It was mind bending to work out how to apply them in reverse! And the weaving added another complication.

Overall this chapter was not as difficult as I had anticipated and set me up well for Chapter 7 which I have worked at alongside this one.

Leave a comment